Books; A source of income.

Standard

It’s a shame to see people trying to make money by selling books at unreasonably high prices. I am a Pakistani and trust me when I say this, some people are really big assholes here. There is only one shop that sells original books i.e. The Liberty Bookstore. But even if they wouldn’t be selling books it won’t make much of a difference because they have a lot of god books but those books are so unreasonably expensive that you just get a few seconds to admire then your eyes fall on the price tag and you put it back on the shelf and walk away in shame. If it’s not that then the only option I have is to read them online. But online reading is usually the last option. Online reading is boring. It’s not the same as holding the book in your hand, turning the pages. You can’t even smell them. Plus, most of the books aren’t even available online. So yesterday I went to the Liberty Bookstore and I felt like crying. There was this whole shelf of Young Adult books and they had these amazing books. I have a whole list of books I want to read and they were all there. I have bought some books from there earlier but with time they increased the prices. In my honest opinion, books should be free. Like in libraries. But there aren’t ay good libraries here either. My school library is so outdated, it has books by authors nobody has ever heard of. The good books like The Alchemist, The Lovely Bones, etc that should be available to students are in the teacher’s resources section and banned to the students. I guess there isn’t much of a reading tradition here in Pakistan.

Leave a Reply

