Friday Post #7: New Year Resolutions and Memory Jars.

Standard

Okay I am late again. Sorry :3 But anyways.. Happy New Year!! :D I know I am late for that, too. Sorry, again.

Every New year we all go like, “New year, new me.” We make a list of resolutions to change ourselves, be a better person, make a difference, achieve something, blah blah blah. We even make the efforts but a few days in and we forget those resolutions and we are back to our old habits. The point I’m trying to make is not that we can’t change but the fact that we don’t need the New Year to make that effort. I believe that if you want to change you would start making an effort right now. Forget new year’s eve, every new day brings you an opportunity to start over. It’s your day, your moment, your life. You can be anything that you want to be. Doesn’t matter if it’s new year’s eve, 3 in the morning, mid of July, of 5 in the afternoon; if you want to make a difference you should make an effort to do so.

And there are some like me. For the past 3-4 years I have been trying to keep a daily diary. Like for the first few days of every January I would write an entry. As the days would go by, I would either forget or be too lazy. The entries became infrequent until they stopped altogether. I’m some of you of have been there. So this year I will try something different: a Memory Jar. Basically what you do is write down a one-liner or a small paragraph about something that made you happy on a piece of paper and put that paper in a jar. And you do this through-out the year and at the end of the year you empty the jar and read those pieces of paper. So this way your memories would be preserved and you can take out and read your memories whenever you want. :)

I found this post with these amazing ideas. You should check it out: http://www.steamykitchen.com/19992-memory-jar.html

Image

Leave a Reply

